Oscars: my predictions

With the Oscar ceremony coming up, I decided to give you my own predictions of the main categories. Keep in mind that I haven’t seen all of the nominated films, there are still a couple left for me to see.

Best motion picture:

ARRIVAL
LA LA LAND
FENCES
LION
HACKSAW RIDGE
MANCHESTER BY THE SEA
HELL OR HIGH WATER
MOONLIGHT
HIDDEN FIGURES

la_la_land_ver2I think that La La Land will win in this category, because of the
praise it has already gotten. There were a lot of good aspects of the film, that’s why I wrote the article called The brilliance of La La Land, but there were also some less good aspects to the film. That’s why I didn’t find that film to be the best one of 2016. I found ArrivalHacksaw Ridge and Manchester By the Sea to be better than La La Land, but as said before I think that La La Land will win, just because it already did at the Globes and because Hollywood likes itself.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

CASEY AFFLECK (MANCHESTER BY THE SEA)
VIGGO MORTENSON (CAPTAIN FANTASTIC)
ANDREW GARFIELD HACKSAW RIDGE)
DENZEL WASHINGTON (FENCES)
RYAN GOSLING (LA LA LAND)

Casey Affleck definitely deserves is Oscar for this role. He really showed all of his emotions in this film and it even gave me chills at time. He brought his character to live like none actor has done last year, even though it was filled with fantastic performances. Fences is still on my watch list, and I’ve heard a lot of good about the performances in that film, so there’s also a chance that Denzel Washington gets the Oscar, but I’m not sure about that. That’s why I believe that Casey Affleck will win the Oscar

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

NATALIE PORTMAN (JACKIE)
RUTH NEGGA (LOVING)
MERYL STREEP (FLORENCE FOSTER JENKINS)
ISABELLE HUPPERT (ELLE)
EMMA STONE (LA LA LAND)

jackie-1
Natalie Portman in “Jackie” – 2016

Here I’m not really sure who’ll win, because I’ve only seen two of the nominated actresses in their film, those are Emma Stone and Natalie Portman. I do think that out of the five nominated actresses Natalie Portman will win. She gave a fantastic performance, what I believe also was the only real good part about the film.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

MAHERSHALA ALI (MOONLIGHT)
DEV PATEL (LION)
JEFF BRIDGES (HELL OR HIGH WATER)
LUCAS HEDGES (MANCHESTER BY THE SEA)
MICHAEL SHANNON (NOCTURNAL ANIMALS)

Mahershala Ali will defiantly win the Oscar in this category. I haven’t seen the film yet myself, but from what I’ve heard of it and what I’ve seen from it, I can say that he will win. Lucas Hedges won’t win, because his performance wasn’t even Oscar-worthy. I have no clue how he even ended up here. It’s not that his performance was bad, but it wasn’t very good either. I kind of hope that Michael Shannon wins as well, because he was really good in Nocturnal Animals, but I think that he won’t get the credit he deserves.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

VIOLA DAVIS (FENCES)
NAOMI HARRIS (MOONLIGHT)
NICOLE KIDMAN (LION)
MICHELLE WILLIAMS (MANCHESTER BY THE SEA)
OCTAVIA SPENCER (HIDDEN FIGURES)

viola
Viola Davis in “Fences” -2016

The Oscar will go to Viola Davis as best actress in a supporting role. From the trailers and clips I’ve seen I really thought she gave her all in this film. Naomi Harris is a close second, but I haven’t really seen a lot of her in clips and trailers. The other nominees I think don’t really have a chance to wine. Michelle Williams also gave a good performance, but I don’t think that it was enough to earn that golden statue.

Best Achievement in Directing

DENIS VILLENEUVE (ARRIVAL)
BARRY JENKINS (MOONLIGHT)
MEL GIBSON (HACKSAW RIDGE)
DAMIEN CHAZELLE (LA LA LAND)
KENNETH LONERGAN (MANCHESTER BY THE SEA)

13denis-villeneuve1-master768-v2
Amy Adams and Denis Villeneuve behind the scenes of “Arrival” – 2016

I believe that Denis Villeneuve is that one that should win, but is not the one that will win. The one that will win is Damien Chazelle for La La Land. It’s not that La La Land  is badly directed, on contrary even. I just think that in Denis Villeneuve’s Arrival there was more depth in every frame and that every frame had a deeper meaning. There just was put more thought into the film and its visual directing, together with camera movements, which was also of course the case with La La Land, but with Arrival I found this to be more the case.

Best Original Screenplay

TAYLOR SHERIDAN (HELL OR HIGH WATER)
KENNETH LONEGAN (MANCHESTER BY THE SEA)
DAMIEN CHAZELLE (LA LA LAND)
MIKE MILLES (21ste CENTURY WOMEN)
YORGOS LANTHIMOS, EFTHYMIS FILIPPOU (THE LOBSTER)

The screenplay of La La Land was good, but nothing absolutely fantastic, the one of The Lobster was very original, but as with Michael Shannon, I don’t think it’ll get the credit it deserves. I haven’t seen 21st Century Women, so I can’t really be the judge of that. It’s quite close between Hell or High Water and Manchester By the Sea. I want Hell or High Water to win, but the statue will probably go to Manchester By the Sea, which I find to also be a very good choice. The characters were very good in that film and so was the story construction.

Best Adapted Screenplay

ERIC HEISSERER (ARRIVAL)
AUGUST WILSON (FENCES)
LUKE DAVIES (LION)
BARRY JENKINS, TARELL ALVIN McCRANEY (MOONLIGHT)
ALLISON SCHROEDER, THEODORE MELFI (HIDDEN FIGURES)

Eric Heisserer’s screenplay for Arrival I want to win, and I also think that it will. Hidden Figures’ screenplay wasn’t that good, so that one won’t get the Oscar, or at least I’ll be surprised if it does. But I haven’t seen Fences, Moonlight or Lion so it could still be one of those.

Best Animated Feature Film of the Year

KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS
ZOOTOPIA
THE RED TURTLE
MOANA
MY LIFE AS ZUCCHINI

970full-kubo-and-the-two-strings-screenshot
“Kubo and the Two Strings” – 2016

Kubo and the Two Strings contained some of the best animation I’ve ever seen, but story-wise the film fell a bit flat in the second and third act,  but even despite that I think that it should win the Oscar, which it probably wont’t. The Oscat will probably go to Zootopia, a good film throughout, but with less spectacular animation as in Kubo and the Two Strings.

Those are my guesses for the main categories of the Oscars of 2017. I hope you liked reading this article, and comment your own predictions in the comments!

Leave a Reply

